Being one of the most consistent sounding labels in the game is some task, but the team behind Just Move Records make it seem like light work. 2019 has seen them release 4 incredible EPs, one highly charting single and a total of 3 compilations. Their latest release, the third edition of their long running Motion Sampler series, forms part of the latter and drops today.

The release is also compiled in memoriam of Chris Keys, an integral part of the JMR team who sadly passed away earlier this year. Keys was behind the label’s recognisable visual identity, and is honoured with a beautiful illustration on the release cover.

The series has always been a go to for seeing what talent the golden ears behind the brand are looking to introduce, as well as what treats the regular suspects have contributed. This edition keeps to tradition with first time appearances from San Luis Potosie, Thabang Baloyi, Typeof, Kayemzat XI and Epic Soulstar. Vandal M, Thorne Miller, Washington Pozzi, Rephlex & KVRVBO, and Sabastian Mugg all make welcome returns to the label.

On the slower side Kayemzat XI & Thorne Miller both provide highlights, the former with a deep & spacey vocal groove and the latter with his signature style of head-nodding soulful influenced sounds. Rephlex & KVRVBO do some of the more heavy damage on the release, alongside a menacingly dark tune from Washington Pozzi.

Highlights aside, there still isn’t much fat to trim here. Each groove seems primed for a different environment, and are likely to make their way into various flavours of house sets over the coming months.

Editor’s Favourite: Kayemzat XI – Club PMWC / Rephlex & KVRVBO – Over The Edge