album art dwson impulsiv

Cape Town deep house maestro Dwson has released his long awaited debut album and man, was it worth the wait. At 11 tracks long there is something for everyone, with slower soulful cuts mixing perfectly into the more danceable, tech sounds of the album.

Tracks like ‘Tears For You’, ‘More of Me’ and ‘Miles Away’ all provide slightly more relaxed grooves, perfect for kicking back. The smooth vocals mixed with Dwsons incredible ear for melody on ‘Tears For You’ is a personal highlight and has already racked up its fair share of replays.

The guest appearances on the album come courtesy of deep house vocal legend Ziyon, Jackie Queens, Kymac (Dwson’s cousin) and last but certainly not least Sio who helps craft another standout hit in Forbidden.

Second to last on the album ‘Rain’ feels incredibly dance floor ready and I’m excitedly awaiting the first time I hear this on the floor. ‘Changes’ featuring Ziyon is also sure to provide more than a comfortable bit of warmth to dancefloors this winter.

Impulsiv is released through Kid Fonque’s Stay True Sounds label and marks the first full length album in what is an incredibly impressive catalog considering the label has only been around since 2015. Dwson previously his Luna EP on the label, which largely tore dancefloors to pieces through 2017 and early this year. In addition to Stay True Dwson has released on Jozi based taste making label Just Move Records as well as through Cape Town’s Red Bull Music Academy.

Keep an eye on this guy, he’s nowhere near done yet.

Editor’s Favorite: Tears For You (Original Mix)