Compilations have long been an integral part of South African dance music culture. As far back as the origins of House Afrika and Kalawa Jazmee house music insiders would collect tracklists of the hottest current grooves to release together in one curated package. Cape Town based Ambious Records are following in that tradition with their latest release: Axiom Vol. 1.

At 14 tracks long the tracklist contains a great variation of electronic sounds and features artists from domestic and international shores. Young phenom Avi Subban opens the release with a driving banger that out of the gate received a big reaction from the online community. Label heads Nick Supply & MKLY both make an appearance with the former contributing his funky 1951 single and the latter’s Delta getting a slow ethereal remix from local collective Messive Muzik. Jozi based artist KVRVBO continues to impress with another stellar single in California, with fellow 011 duo Deep Souls’ haunting Tranquilo still sounding as fresh as when it first released on the compilation sampler.

A lot of the above mentioned records feel very firmly within Ambious’ signature style but there is a touch of experimentation to the release in records such as DR. 1MORE’s In The House, which feels more in a traditional vein of house music. Dusty Duke’s Shakin and DjangoZA’sĀ Feast & Famine are both further examples of this as they bring in a slightly more techno driven groove.

The task of compiling music from this many artists into one packaged release is by no means an easy feat and the Ambious Records crew have certainly positioned themselves as future tastemakers. With several future releases already in the pipeline, including an Adam De Smidt EP in the following weeks, the collective is looking like it will only gain more momentum as the year moves on.


Editor’s Favorite: Avi Subban – Syko